Learning to Survive

A lot of interesting things have happened since the last time I wrote. I have done a lot of fun and exciting things; and I hope you will enjoy hearing about them as much as I did doing them!

20150720_180119

A few weeks ago we all went on a camping trip, but it wasn’t your normal camping trip; we didn’t bring our tents. The whole trip was focused on how to survive out in the wilderness – without your normal comforts. When we got there a few of the guys went to look for a good camping spot.

11800123_1111298005550988_5945818966702183803_n
This is the shelter I stayed in.

At the spot there was a huge tree that had fallen down; it was big enough to house 5 of us under it. We cut off a LOT of long branches and cut off some needles from a tree. We had to cut enough to put them on the ground so we would have a comfortable sleep. Then we cut big ones to cover the outside of the shelter so we would have some privacy.

1513245_1111328488881273_9210553830034481706_n
This is a shelter one of others built.

When the evening was getting on we dug a small hole and started a fire; it was really great to be in the outdoors and smell the fresh air. It was really interesting when we went to sleep that night to sleep under a log on pine needles; we did bring our sleeping bags though so we would be warm.

This is part of the huge log we slept under. It also shows another shelter.
This is part of the huge log we slept under. It also shows another shelter.

The next day after we had breakfast we washed our dishes in the river that we camped by. The river was so pure that we didn’t even have to filter it!!! We drank right from the river it was very good tasting water.

One of the girls holding up the water filterer...
One of the girls holding up the water filterer…
This is one of classes, not the wild eatables class...
This is one of classes, not the wild eatables class…

We had a class that day to learn about wild eatables. It was fascinating to see how many plants we are able to sustain on; they may not taste the best, but it is nice to know that if anything unforeseen should happen; I would be able to survive out in the wild.

11800182_1111374582209997_3481672199041668113_n

We also learned how to purify water in case we ever needed to drink from a river and the water would not be the best. Here is what you do…. Get some charcoal from the fire and crush it and then take a clean sock and put quite a bit in there. Then put some sand/ gravel (the finer stuff) in there, and then put grass and weeds on top of that. Add your water and let it strain through and you will have clean water.

11822513_1111369352210520_2991899803754011934_n

We also learned to take pitch from a tree because it is a great way to start a fire. I feel MORE prepared now – if anything were to happen I would be ready!

Almost every night we shared testimonies and stories around the campfire.  We had lots of fun cooking over a fire at night preparing our food out in the open. They say food cooked on an open fire tastes better than at home, and that if you prepared that same dish at home it would taste totally different. I would say that I agree.

 

11811554_1111589945521794_2757478351345675970_n
This is a knife one of the boys made out of wood…

Someone in our group brought a hammock and it was hung high in the trees. So the final night I slept in it; I went up there with my sleeping bag and pillow – it was such a fun and great experience!  I was surprisingly comfortable, although in the morning I did feel some muscles that I haven’t felt in a while. 🙂

11825744_1111367355544053_451840085734327908_n
A basket that the leader made, it was pretty neat to watch. 🙂
11855882_10204729028890417_8244576535783002909_n
The Tent that the meetings where held in

Then we packed up and headed home.

The following Sunday someone in our group had to go to California for a couple days, so I offered to drive; it was nice to have a few days off from everything.

When we got back we helped set up for the camp meeting that is taking place this coming Sunday, but by the time this is posted the camp meeting will be over. While we are there, there will be no Internet.  We will be at meetings all day!  It looks like it’s going to be a great week coming up and I’m excited to see what the Lord has in store with all the people that will be attending.

11825703_10204728995089572_4891407215319377950_n
Bread that we made for the campmeeting

I am going to get re-baptized at the campmeeting.  The first time I was only 10 years old, and since I am going to be 21 in a couple months it has been 10 years since my baptism. I have learned so much since then I feel like the Lord is leading me to rededicate my life to Him. I believe we are living in some very serious times and some serious things are about to take place. We must get ready in all ways possible and get our lives in order!!! God will be with us and guide us as we continue in these days and months coming.

Someone brought a Tee-pee at the camp, it was really neat!
Someone brought a Tee-pee at the camp, it was really neat!

Next time I’ll tell you guys all about the camp meeting and how it went and whatever else happens after that. May each of you continue to be blessed and walk with God and always be a shining light in the dark world around you.

20150720_175457

 

Published by: Kaila

I want to go wherever my Saviour leads me, and want to do what He tells me. I am serving the Lord wherever He calls me to go. I laugh and smile very easily, and love to meet new people! The Lord has given me the talent of singing, and playing the flute. I love to play songs which glorify my Savior and to play songs to the elderly, it is great to see the look of happiness in their faces when they hear the music! :) A few of my other favorite things I like to do is; reading the Bible and Spirit of Prophecy, cooking, knitting, and I love to witness and share about Jesus! My character is moldable for His hands! If I don't get to meet you here on this earth, meet me in the heavenly kingdom! You can also check out my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/astarwitness Matthew 22: 14 - For many are called, but few are chosen. John 15:6 - Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. *~Kaila~*

Categories adventure, calling, Camping, Experiences, Friends, Fun, hard work, Oregon, Planting, School, Working, young2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Learning to Survive”

Leave a Reply

