Day One: Living It Rough

The Lord seems to work in mysterious ways. When I was young I never expected to be on so many adventures as I have been. In fact as most of you know (if you have been following my adventures so far), I fought the Lord for a long time. Then I finally surrendered to Him and now as I’m looking back and see where I am today, I am very thankful that I did, because it has been amazing to serve the Lord in such a way.

1 Casa Blanca & Edgewood, New Mexico, May 25, 2015

Even through the ups and downs God has lead, blessed, and He has been there for me ALL the time. I praise the Lord for all He has done for me because it makes me more dependent on Him and makes my faith grow every day.

7 Ganado, Gallup Arizona, New Mexico - May 25, 2015

Anyway on to some new and exciting things…

22 Casa Blanca & Edgewood, New Mexico, May 25, 2015

My mother and I traveled for 2½ days across the country and I was able to be in some new states that I have never been in before such as: Arkansas, Arizona, New Mexico, and now Oregon. There are some advantages to being a missionary for a living…you get to travel and see new places. The disadvantage is that you seem to be always traveling and on the move and living out of suitcases, but after a while you don’t seem to mind and the Lord makes those little inconveniences go away.

5 Casa Blanca & Edgewood, New Mexico, May 25, 2015
Sorry it is titled, I can’t change it.

So my mom and I traveled together to California and we stayed there at a friend’s house for a few days. Then on Sunday, the last day of May I traveled by myself to the school here in Oregon and it took me almost 12 hours to get there. Praise the Lord I made it safe and sound.

8 Casa Blanca & Edgewood, New Mexico, May 25, 2015
This one as well!

I set up my tent with the help of a few people here and got everything situated.

20150531_163537

Then the first full day we helped the local church move from the church they were renting to another location that is actually closer to where this school is located.

20150531_164526

Then in the afternoon it rained; when we came back and I checked on my tent and there was water all over the floor, the bed was all wet as well. The Lord blessed though and they have an old bus that is transformed into small living quarters. One of the other girls is living in there as well, so during the rain that is where I’ll be sleeping. Talk about living it rough, ha-ha……but wait it does get better.

20150531_155124

So the next day, we were all busy setting up two carports, not to be used for our cars, but to use them for a class room and the second one will be transformed into our kitchen. In the future we will be building outhouses, shower houses, (right now we are borrowing someone’s trailer shower house, which is a trailer with two different rooms that just have showers in them) and cabins. Also a fence, another green house and if I have left anything out I will tell you on a later post.

20150531_161655

For now let’s just get back to the 2nd of June…we had to level the ground and then we had to put gravel down, and let me tell that was good hard labor. Then we had a class for introduction of all the classes that we will have in the future, which a lot of them will be videoed and I will leave a link in my blog for you guys to watch.

20150601_150501

The last thing that we did for that day is what you guys will find the most amusing, primitive, and maybe interesting thing.

20150531_155905

We made our own wash tubs. Yes, that’s right, you heard me right, our own washing machines to wash our clothes in. We took $1 buckets, the one gallon ones, and we cleaned them on the inside because they had oil in the buckets originally. So as you can imagine we scrubbed those buckets really well. Then we just drilled a hole in the bucket and you will never guess what we are using for an agitator.

20150602_184022

Ok are you ready for this, it is… a plunger, yep like the kind you use for toilets, but these are brand new never used before and they work really well for an agitator. So what you do is put some clothes in add water and your laundry soap, put the lid on with the plunger inside and part of it on the outside. Then you just start pumping up and down vigorously and then you pour out the soapy water and put in clean water and that is your rinse cycle. Then you have to wring out your clothes and then hang them out on the line to dry.

20150602_184032

Now that is living it rough! We are learning how to do things practically here so that in any situation we are prepared and we could live rough if we needed to. This is just one of many things to come that we will be learning. It is going to be great fun and also a lot of hard work and I’m really looking forward to learning all of these neat things, and then telling you all about it. 🙂

11329977_10205144734072635_8817623941053416905_n

Well, this is what has happened to me so far, and there is a lot more to come where this came from. I would also like to write about how I came up with the new name of my blog and all the reasons why it is perfect for me and how I know the Lord gave me this name!  This name will be the permanent name and it is the name of my new ministry as well.

11063853_10205177138962737_9049971792047015166_n

You guys are the start of it, so thank you to all of you who have been there from the start, and who have joined along the way. I appreciate everyone’s support, prayers and encouragement.

Also I heard the voice of the Lord

May God continue to lead, guide and bless us all!

11403448_10205165808599485_5344638626081469264_n

Published by: Kaila

I want to go wherever my Saviour leads me, and want to do what He tells me. I am serving the Lord wherever He calls me to go. I laugh and smile very easily, and love to meet new people! The Lord has given me the talent of singing, and playing the flute. I love to play songs which glorify my Savior and to play songs to the elderly, it is great to see the look of happiness in their faces when they hear the music! :) A few of my other favorite things I like to do is; reading the Bible and Spirit of Prophecy, cooking, knitting, and I love to witness and share about Jesus! My character is moldable for His hands! If I don't get to meet you here on this earth, meet me in the heavenly kingdom! You can also check out my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/astarwitness Matthew 22: 14 - For many are called, but few are chosen. John 15:6 - Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. *~Kaila~*

Categories Uncategorized4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Day One: Living It Rough”

  1. Kaila, we are following you all the way & love to hear your informative stories. You are such a jewel to us & the Lord. Our prayers continue for you & your ministry. Love you Kaila 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, Praise the Lord for what He is doing, I hope that I may be of good service to Him! I hope to have another blog up soon, I’m going to write it tonight! Thanks for the prayers! 😀

Leave a Reply

